Skip to content

42: Meat Scarves

January 3, 2011

Happy New Year! Here’s another breakdown of some gifts I made.

These were for my brothers. Adam got the bacon scarf and Andrew got the sausage scarf. Here they are with the finished product:

They’re both made from fleece (the pink is actually left over from the Beaker Costume) and super-long. More photos comin’ at ya.

 

I sewed each sausage individually for the sausage scarf.

It was pretty easy to sew the shape. Fleece is very forgiving when stuffing. You don’t really need to make complicated darts or anything. It just all stretches into place.

Then I stuffed them full of fluff and used some heavy embroidery floss to sew the ends together.

Delicious and fluffy.

It makes a great neck pillow too.

I wanted the bacon to look the same on both sides, so I just sewed pieces of fleece together sloppily and cut the seams very close to the stitching. It would have been much easier if I owned a serger. But, once again, fleece is very forgiving. The ends don’t need to be finished, because it doesn’t unravel.

As I sewed the fleece I made sure to pull and twist it so that it would pucker and deform. Just like real bacon.

See? It’s all lumpy.

Now, I’m hungry.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. nancy sandoval permalink
    January 5, 2011 9:46 pm

    Those are some nice looking men.

  2. January 9, 2011 7:52 am

    great stuff

  3. Smiley Face permalink
    October 26, 2011 4:49 pm

    Such a under appreciated blog!

    I started from page one and could not resist to post any longer
    I WANT A BACON SCARF XD

  4. November 18, 2011 1:17 am

    …I suspect that the hover text in the first picture was answering my unasked question.

    In which case, well-anticipated, my friend.

  5. Jessica permalink
    April 20, 2012 8:33 pm

    Genius!!

Leave a Reply

