Skip to content

120: Big Tetris!

July 1, 2012

A couple years ago, I decided that I was going to fill an alleyway with large Tetris pieces, someday. I didn’t know how, and I didn’t know when, but I knew I was going to make it happen.

After a bit of planning, and a lot of help, it happened yesterday.

Huge ‘thank you’s to everyone who helped. Here’s how we did it:

I knew that I wouldn’t have the budget, space, or resources to pull this off alone. So I decided to recruit some more people who are passionate about stupid street art. Luckily, the internet makes it pretty easy to address a lot of people at once. Many of you saw the call for artists that I posted about 3 weeks back, and I had a lot of responses.

To all the local responders (Sorry you non-local guys. My next collaboration will include you.), I sent out the measurements and the colors we’d use for each shape. Apart from that, they were on their own.

Materials, design, build, and transport was left up to each individual. Some made one piece, some made more.

I made an “L” and a “J”, which are my favorites.

They’re also technically the same shape. And because I’m dumb, I decided to make mine out of wood. Why is that dumb? We’ll get to that in a bit.

2 cans of spray paint each. My neighbors were wondering what they were. Clearly, they’re not golfers.

I had told everyone that the pieces should be lightweight enough to carry it down town, but I don’t often pay attention to my own advice. I was determined to overbuild mine, and both of them together ended up weighing at least 100 lbs.

Now, I’m a big guy, and that’s not ridiculously heavy or anything, but the size combined with the weight made it almost impossible to carry. And they wouldn’t fit in my little car, either.

All those years as a nerd in school, carrying all my books in one backpack, finally pay off. This is a piece of cake.

None of you scouts tell me how I tied this wrong, OK?

Here are some pictures of other people’s pieces:

And some videos:

 

Yay!

Three of us walked down together, and we got some strange looks, some knowing nods, and a few cheers.

We also passed this little park with blocks that perfectly fit our pieces.

And then we all came together.

The original idea was to flash-mob, drop, and leave, but there were some transportation issues. So, the whole thing gradually came together over one and a half hours, while multiple car trips were made.

Still, it’s pretty nice.

We stuck around for a little bit and watched new people discover it.

Thanks to everyone who helped or tried to help. You guys are the best. I can’t thank you enough for making this a success.
Because of you, the world just became a little bit more magical.

Oh, and here’s the rest of the pictures:

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2012 7:42 pm

    Tetris kept me sane when Roxy was a baby. This is awesome šŸ™‚

    • July 1, 2012 7:52 pm

      Thanks. Hopefully I’ll get even more people to help me out next time I do a group collaboration, and it will thus be awesomer.

  2. July 1, 2012 8:31 pm

    That is so freakin’ cool! Nicely done everyone! šŸ˜€

  3. Expie permalink
    July 1, 2012 9:38 pm

    Very cool, people. You rock!

  4. Susanna permalink
    July 1, 2012 9:44 pm

    Awesome! It turned out so well.

  5. July 1, 2012 11:44 pm

    Kudos guys! I was curious what this collaboration project might be and you did not disappoint!

  6. July 2, 2012 1:06 pm

    Truly awesome idea, Kyle. I had a blast working on the Z piece, and the finished product looks sweet! Great job, everyone!

  7. Rada permalink
    July 2, 2012 3:32 pm

    Awesome!!!

  8. July 4, 2012 4:23 pm

    what a fun project.

  9. July 8, 2012 1:56 pm

    It would be awesome if you could attach some sort of rope between the windows and have one of the blocks dangle like it’s falling downwards, but there’d be problems with a) finding rope that can hold the weight b) getting into the houses! Heh, I wonder what the residents thought when they came out the next day…

Leave a comment