Skip to content

74: Even more ambigrams

August 20, 2011

I know. It seems like a just a few weeks ago that I posted a long string of ambigrams. And then sometime before that I had another similar post. What’s going on? Well it turns out the most recent post was pretty popular and I got a few additional requests.

At first I declined the challenge, but my brain wouldn’t listen. It kept yelling, “But I can do that!” and formulating new ambigrams. I figured I might as well draw them out. Then I drew some more, and before I knew what was happening I had a healthy new crop of reversible names (and ideas for even more). So, I’m just going to post them here and move on.

But first I want to share a non-name ambigram that I’m particularly proud of:

It was my love of palindromes that first made me discover ambigrams. I always thought it was some kind of disservice that the word “palindrome” was not itself palindromic. So, one of my very first attempts at ambigrams was to make the word palindrome read the same backwards and forwards. Since then, I’ve had a number of technical successes (if you squint, maybe), but I think this is the most fluid form I’ve made.

OK, let’s move on to the names.

liz bob matt ambigram

Some short names to start off with. Liz, Bob, and Matt. “Liz” was simple after I discovered that it’s almost a natural ambigram when written in lowercase cursive. “Bob” was more difficult than I anticipated. The simple solution would be to draw something that looks like “808”, but I don’t think that’s very legible.

cosmo ambigram

I do technically know a guy named Cosmo, but I did this one, primarily, because it seemed like it would be fun. It was.

christopher ambigram

Christopher. A little sloppy, but you get the point. Sloppy = whimsical!

kristin + adam ambigram

Last time, I showed couples ambigram for my brother and his wife. Well, it turns out my other brother will be getting married soon, so here’s a preliminary design of a  couples ambigram for “Kristin + Adam”. “Kristin” has noticeably more letters than “Adam”, so that made it more of a challenge. Still a lot of clean-up work to be done on this one, too.

Kevin Ambigram

Kevin. Not rotational, reflexive. It’ll look the same in a mirror.

anthony ambigramAnthony. I may have cheated a little bit on this one. I just crossed an O to make a T, hopefully it’s as legible as I think it is.

gloria samantha catherine ambigram

These three are requests from the comments section of the last ambigrams post. Gloria, Samantha, and Catherine. I enjoyed making each one of these. They were all pretty challenging. I hope Catherine likes Disney, because that’s the style it wanted to be in.

So, I am apparently taking suggestions now. If you’d like your name done in this style (or anything else for that matter), let me hear it. If you really want you request to go through, well, I have this little yellow button over on the right side bar that might help you get my attention.

See ya next week, when I’ll try to do something unrelated to writing names.

——–

Update: Can he do even more?! It turns out he can: Fistful of Ambigrams!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    August 20, 2011 7:07 pm

    I know you already did a Jennifer but you know my feelings on that version of my name, so Jenny would be awesome. And Roxanne or Roxy.
    p.s. Miss you guys.

    Jen

  2. August 21, 2011 5:49 am

    Would like to see a Todd. Been trying to wrap my head around how it could be done but for the life of me I cant come up with anything.

  3. August 22, 2011 12:30 pm

    Wow, this is definitely one of the most varied blogs on the net :v

    If you want a challenge, try Mushyrulez.

  4. Liz permalink
    August 22, 2011 3:56 pm

    I see my name on the internet!!!

  5. Tennitha permalink
    August 22, 2011 11:23 pm

    the catherine is awesome! disney movies were my favourite when i was younger =)
    thank you!

  6. SUE permalink
    August 27, 2011 8:43 pm

    Hey can anybody do one for the name ADAM ?? or where is says Adam one way and r the ?that would be awesome!

  7. Tennitha permalink
    September 12, 2011 7:45 pm

    i have three friends who loved my ambigram! could you possibly try kate, sophie and morgan??

  8. September 12, 2011 11:23 pm

    Like I said in the post, using that little yellow button at the top of the side bar will greatly increase your odds of getting a response from me.

    That is to say, I’m pretty busy with a new thing every week and occasional graphic design work. You might need to offer something in return to get my attention. Ahem.

  9. Oak permalink
    October 26, 2011 9:34 pm

    I first learned about ambigrams from the amazing princess bride re release cover a few years ago

  10. November 17, 2011 6:53 pm

    Palindrome as a palindrome- that’s a pretty neat mind-bender!

  11. November 18, 2011 12:57 pm

    This is so cool – I just discovered your blog today (LOVE it), and this post includes ambigrams for my name AND both of my brothers’ names (Christopher and Kevin). Awe.some. I think I will have to re-blog this soon. And I will definitely be keeping up with your blog!!

  12. November 22, 2011 1:06 am

    You are a very talented man.

    Just thought you should know that some random chick from Australia envies your awesomeness. 😉

  13. AShish Tokekar permalink
    February 2, 2013 2:54 am

    I want to ambigrams my name 🙂

    How to ambigrams?

  14. February 12, 2014 7:49 pm

    Me Like that chick from Australia envy your flippin head. Would you do Bon Earth?

  15. Tana Krigbaum permalink
    February 4, 2021 6:15 pm

    I love your style my name is Tana I’d love for you to do my name as well as my kids HAILEY CARLEY AND my father who passed away five years ago to lung cancer his name was Sam thank you so much

Leave a comment