Skip to content

73: Hand Puppet

August 13, 2011

I’ve been musing over the term hand puppet for a while now. I’ve wanted to make something that was technically a hand puppet, but not what you’d immediately expect.

So, I ended up making this:

It’s a big marionette hand. And it walks.

I made it mostly out of wine corks. Wanna see how?

Meg bought a bunch of old wine corks at a garage sale for a buck. They’ve been in our hall closet for almost a year. Then I got this idea, and grabbed some glue and felt.

I roughed out a quick skeleton that functioned surprisingly well.

Then I got to work, padding it out with pieces of felt. When I was all done, it worked remarkably like a human hand, only much bigger.

I hesitated for a long time, while I tried to figure out how to do the next step. What kind of skin do I give it?

I finally decided on some tan fleece, and started the incredibly tedious process of hand-sewing it all in place.

It was little things like sewing in between the fingers that took the longest.

Then it was just a matter of sewing the digits into place, and stringing it up.

The only thing wrong with it, is its ability to play Rock, Paper, Scissors.

It sucks.

I’m kind of in a rush, so I’m just going to dump the rest of the photos in a gallery here. See ya next week.

(Update! If you like this post, check out Hand Puppet: part 2)

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 4:05 pm

    How do you manage to do all of these, every single week?!

  2. August 16, 2011 3:41 pm

    Simultaneously cool and creepy.

  3. Deborah Hepworth permalink
    August 24, 2011 2:23 pm

    Very real looking…and definitely creepy!

  4. November 22, 2011 1:01 am

    Anyone else thinking of Thing?
    *click click*

  5. daisybellecrafts permalink
    May 5, 2013 1:09 am

    Tres creepy..but awesome ๐Ÿ˜€

Trackbacks

  1. 127: Hand Puppet: part 2 « Something a week

Leave a Reply

