Skip to content

19: Mario Coins

July 29, 2010

When walking around this great city, one thing often strikes me as a serious problem. There is a severe lack of giant Marioesque coins floating above the sidewalks.

This week, I did my part to remedy that problem.

I can taste that 1-up already. (Build photos and close-ups after the jump.)

Alright, so you start with some corrugated plastic, because it’s cheap, and because you can’t find any Plexiglas, which is what you really want.

Then you cut out some coin shapes and a stencil template using a close-up of a coin from screenshot you took from Super Mario Brothers. I’m not talking SMB2 or 3 here; I’m looking for some serious pixelation and limited colors.

Alright, then you give them a light dusting of spray paint so you don’t have to mark out the pattern 8 times.

Then, it’s paint by number. (It probably would have been easier to just stencil spray the colors, but I already had brush paint in my colors, and I didn’t want to make a store run for more spray paint.) If you marked them out in 1 inch pixels, a 1 inch foam brush is a really good idea.

My fingers still hurt from making these hooks. Not pictured here is where I coated them in rubbery hot glue to minimize sliding around.

Check out my high-tech deployment method.

They’re ready for placement, and boy do they look good.

Close-up of the engineering end. A former coworker used to say, “If you can’t tie a knot, tie a lot,” and let me assure you that is what is under the tape–a lot of knots.

I ended up looking up some knot tying instructions for this end. Pay no attention to the bird piñata.

That’s me with the Frankenpole® at 5:30 in the morning. It was stitched together out of 3 other poles and reanimated in a lab. It’s like 16 feet up to that wire!

Sorry for the picture quality here. I may go get another soon.

**UPDATE** Despite my anti-slip measures, the wind has pushed them closer together, and now they’re all tangled and ugly. I will probably try to retrieve them tonight and redeploy. Stay tuned.

**ANOTHER UPDATE** I was able to get the coins back down with the aide of a Frankenpole® attachment. Putting them back up was not as smooth as last time, but we figured out a way to tape them in place, using yet another high-tech attachment.

This time, I brushed the dust off the wire, put them all up with tape loosely attached, switched over to the Tape Presser again, and pressed down the tape to to the newly clean wire.

I love duct tape. They’re not moving, so it looks like it worked.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Alexander permalink
    July 29, 2010 12:24 pm

    Excellent idea! I’m actually working on a similar project trying to recreate the question mark item squares from mario kart to adhere to the street. keep up the good work!

  2. wooner permalink
    July 29, 2010 4:01 pm

    yeah man this is a sweet looking idea love it to

  3. July 29, 2010 11:15 pm

    brilliant! i love it!

  4. August 4, 2010 9:43 pm

    Brings a new meaning to modern art 😛

  5. November 17, 2011 11:23 am

    This is absolutely brilliant. Your blog is full of awesome.

  6. November 17, 2011 12:24 pm

    Hilarious!

  7. November 17, 2011 4:34 pm

    Utterly amazing. I love them – what a brilliant touch of joy you have left for people to come across during their day to day lives. Utterly amazing…. Your blog is wonderful. 😀 xx

  8. November 18, 2011 12:36 am

    That’s just all kinds of awesome! You, sir, are a mastermind.

  9. November 18, 2011 9:22 am

    You need to come decorate my neighborhood. Very cool!

    • November 18, 2011 4:15 pm

      Sounds like a job for yourself. Seriously. Do it, and send pictures, I’ll post it. 🙂

  10. xoxojy permalink
    November 18, 2011 9:27 am

    the people in your neighborhood are very lucky!

Trackbacks

  1. Stumbled Upon Site of the Day… « Missenscène
  2. 7rano » Mario w realu
  3. Need More Spring In My Step - Hacked IRL- Culture Jamming Graffiti

Leave a comment