Skip to content

152: A cricket

February 16, 2013

I’ve been doing a lot of last-minute posts on here recently, and usually those are drawings.

I really want to get back to doing some sculptural stuff, but lately my time-management skills are the pits. So, this week, I slapped the pen out of my hand, and forced myself to do a last minute sculpture project.

cricket-1

I made a little cricket out of a single strand of wire. It was a quick and easy project, and I have step-by-step directions to create your own…

I found the thinnest wire I had, and bent this basic shape into it:

cricket-2

It’ll start to make sense in a bit, but for now just assume that the right side is his head, and the left side is his butt. The loops are going to become legs, later.

All of the legs should have been much longer, but this was my first try. So, make your loops longer than I made mine.

cricket-3

after I bent the 6 appendages, I just started wrapping the wire around to form the body, working from the right to the left.

cricket-4

And when I got to all the way to the left end, I came back to the right.

cricket-5

Here, I ran out of wire. I would have liked a thicker body, but a yard of wire was not enough. The next one I made had about 5 feet of wire.

You can also see that the thicker the body gets, the shorter the legs become. That’s why you need longer legs to begin with.

cricket-6

I tucked the loose end of the wire under itself,…

cricket-7

…pulled it tight,…

cricket-8

…and cut it off, to make the other antenna.

cricket-9

Then I just pinched the loops closed and bent them to form legs. This one looks a bit sickly.

cricket-10

But I made a second one, and it worked out a lot better.

cricket-11

Now, I just need to hide him somewhere around the city, like I do with pretty much all my projects.
See you next week.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2013 5:22 pm

    Jiminy! That’s impressive!

  2. February 16, 2013 5:29 pm

    So cool! ­čśÇ

  3. February 16, 2013 11:24 pm

    Cute n Creative as well !!!

  4. Deborah Hepworth permalink
    February 17, 2013 6:06 am

    Really don’t like crickets, but I wouldn’t mind finding this little fellow in my house!

    • February 17, 2013 6:47 pm

      I’ll keep this in mind when I hide one in your sock drawer.

  5. Mark Hepworth permalink
    February 17, 2013 6:38 pm

    A Chucker would say this is Jaffa.

  6. February 20, 2013 1:01 pm

    Would love to see an orchestra of crickets in your Etsy shop. (Also, thanks for giving me the opportunity to learn that a group of crickets is called an orchestra. That’s a fun little bit of trivia.)

Leave a Reply

