Skip to content

147: Cheap Tailoring

January 12, 2013

Over the last 6 months, I’ve lost about 65 pounds. It’s been hard, and rewarding, and I still have some weight to lose before I hit my goal, but that topic is for another week.

I’m bringing it up now because it relates to this week’s topic. None of my favorite clothes fit anymore!

tailoring-1

This shirt isn’t the best of my collection, so I figured I could try to tailor it without risking much.

tailoring-2

My plan was to wear it, and have Megan pin the flab back until it fit, but she’s working, and my clone is being used as a lamp. I guess I’m on my own.

So, here’s the quickest and sloppiest way to tailor a large shirt by yourself:

tailoring-3

I own a grand total of one shirt that fits well at this point. So I turned the bad shirt inside out, laid the good shirt on top of the bad shirt on the floor, and started pinning.

tailoring-4

I pinned the bad shirt along the outline of the good shirt, and then sewed along the pin line. (Sewing not pictured, because I forgot)

tailoring-5

I tried it on for a quick test fit, while I could still reverse my progress. I look like a flying squirrel.

tailoring-6

Once I was sure I liked the result, I cut off the excess.

tailoring-7

And, Boom! Now I have two shirts! That was remarkably easy. I don’t know what to do about pants. Pants seem harder to fix, but I can totally do this to all my shirts.

tailoring-8

That’s what accomplishment looks like. It’s kind of gross.

tailoring-9

Once more, while I have the camera out. This hoodie was purchased a long time ago, and it never really fit well. Now that I’m thinner, it really doesn’t fit. So, let’s see if I can fix those stupid cone arms and sphere body (Honestly, who is shaped like that?).

tailoring-10

Boom! Three shirts!

The emblem is a little close to the armpit now. I probably should have sewn in some darts in the front to move it over, but I don’t really care that much. If anyone asks, I have a cool story.

I’m going to do my whole closet. See you next week!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2013 5:25 pm

    don’t forget to serge those edges, or the knit will unravel!

  2. Mark Hepworth permalink
    January 12, 2013 5:57 pm

    In case I just keep getting larger can I have your extra material to sew back onto my shirts? -Dad

  3. January 12, 2013 6:13 pm

    Congratulations on the weight loss as well as the brilliant tailoring!

  4. January 12, 2013 6:14 pm

    You could also zig zag the edges or do a french seam.

  5. January 17, 2013 4:58 pm

    good job

Leave a Reply

