Skip to content

144: Screw Ring

December 22, 2012

Next week, I’ll probably show the Christmas gifts I’ve been making all week, but for now, I have a short little post.

I apprentice part time at a metal shop, and the other day I got an idea. I tossed a long drywall screw into the forge and let it heat up. Then, I hammered flat the threads.
Screw-Ring

I bent up the neck to form a setting area and shaped the body into a ring. This is basically a prototype (as are most of the things I make), but with some time and drilling, I could probably set a stone in that head.

Screw-Ring

After the shaping was done, the whole thing went into the sandblaster to clean off the paint and firescale.

I know I usually take process pictures, but this was over so quickly that I forgot.

Screw-Ring

I had planned to shave out the inside for a smooth area, but Megan says it’s comfortable as is, so I guess I’m done.

See you next week.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 20, 2013 1:08 pm

    With or without set stones, you could totally sell these on your Etsy shop.

Leave a Reply

