Skip to content

136: New Boots?

October 26, 2012

This post is a little out of the ordinary for this blog, it’s entirely about computers.

Everybody who uses Windows 7 is familiar with that animated boot screen where the orbs of light come together and form an obscenely bright Windows logo. Then it just sits there and pulses patiently.

If you deal with a lot of computer problems and restarts like I do, it becomes so familiar to you that you want to smash the screen in every time you see it.

So today, I set out to lighten my mood. I found a site that showed a way to change the boot animation (here if you’re interested), and I decided to make my own animation. It seems only logical.

I am, after all, a customization nerd. My Firefox is loaded with add-ons to navigate by mouse swipes and keystrokes, and I compulsively hide buttons to save screen real estate. Anyone else who uses my computer has trouble, because it only makes sense to me. Come to think of it, that boot screen is about the last thing I haven’t changed (mostly because I assumed I couldn’t). But I think your computers should fit like your clothes–comfortable for you, and slightly-to-very awkward for everyone else, so let’s get to it.

This is what I ended up with:

You can only make the animation so big, so I went with a little video. And now that I know how to do this, I’m probably going to make a bunch. But I only have one computer running Windows 7…

Well, they’ll make interesting Christmas gifts.

I also changed my log-in screen which is infinitely easier to do. It went from looking something like this familiar atrocity…

to something more peaceful like this:

I say “something like” because I can’t get a screenshot, since the computer isn’t fully on at that point. But like I said, changing the log-in screen was really easy. I found those instructions here.

If you have Windows 7, and for some reason, you want to have me welcoming you to the Internet as a start-up screen, you can get the file I made here, and install it using the program I previously linked to (here), BUT…
Don’t mess around with this stuff if you’re not comfortable getting into the guts of your system. You could do some damage to your computer.

Here’s a poor quality video of what I see every time I turn on my computer, now. It’s so much happier (although the music in the video helps too).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fiona.q permalink
    October 27, 2012 12:02 am

    i think you have the talent to be an actor too 🙂

  2. November 11, 2012 10:34 pm

    The title just gave me a great (read: bad) idea… wearing the Windows boot screen. As boots.

Leave a Reply

