Skip to content

135: A Portrait of the Artist as a Lamp.

October 20, 2012

I have two problems.

The first problem is this stupid dark hallway in my house.

We live in a century-old building that’s been remodeled a bunch, so now we have to deal with this awkwardly narrow under-stairway-hall to the bathroom. It’s far from any windows, and there are no electrical outlets for lamps, so it’s always dark.
You can see that push lamp thing on the wall that we put up as a temporary solution and accidentally stayed up for 4 years. Utterly useless, and a waste of batteries. I feel like I can do better.

My second problem is this:

That’s the invisible man who’s been living in my house for 3 weeks since this previous post. I don’t have any place to put him, and he’s huge.

So, it’s time to solve my two problems at once.

First, I drilled a hole through the wall and ran a cord through to the bathroom. There’s an outlet in there, and I need it.

After some minor cord splicing, I have light! Step 1 done, but now I can see all the cobwebs.

For the next step, I cut a hole in the back of the tape man, and got fancy with some wire and hooks.

Voila! Me-lamp is complete!

View from the floor.

View from the bathroom.

I tried to make it look like he was standing on the wall in an Escher-esque gravity world.

That was fun, and now I’m officially problem free. Feels good.

See ya next week.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Andre Chaisson permalink
    October 20, 2012 5:36 pm

    Amazing stuff.

    In post 129 you had a bottle of Malta (!) as part of your dinner. As I’m of Cuban descent, I’ve had many of those, but I don’t know of any non-Cubans who have even heard of the stuff. Do you have any Cuban ancestry, or were you just curious one day and wandered into a Spanish market?

    Again, great work.

    Andre

    • October 21, 2012 10:53 am

      They sell Malta Goya at a lot of different places, and I’m always on the lookout for stuff I’ve never tried before. This one was in a Vietnamese grocery surprisingly, but I do go to a lot of Mexican/Hispanic supermarkets too. I grew up in Texas, and they stock things I get cravings for. I’m not sure where I first saw it, but I know I’ve been curious about the flavor for a long time.

  2. October 21, 2012 12:15 am

    Won’t the tape melt or catch on fire?

    • October 21, 2012 10:47 am

      I don’t think so. There’s a large vent hole, I used a CFL bulb that doesn’t get very hot, and it’s rarely on. Just when company’s over or I need extra light.

      • October 21, 2012 12:57 pm

        Well few! Other than that I thought it was hysterical!

  3. October 21, 2012 10:00 am

    This is awesome. I love you

    • October 21, 2012 11:00 am

      Thanks! While I appreciate the sentiment, I’m not at that level in our relationship, yet.

      I love… spending time with you.

  4. Deborah Hepworth permalink
    October 22, 2012 6:16 am

    Only you would think of lighting up a ceiling with YOU! Great solution to 2 problems. (I, too, worried about the tape melting, so thanks for the explanation that you beam for a quick minute only)

  5. Liz permalink
    October 26, 2012 11:47 am

    Kyle, you light up my life.

  6. mark hepworth permalink
    November 6, 2012 9:18 am

    This little light of mine…………….. I’m going to let it shine!

Leave a Reply

