Skip to content

125: Generic greeting cards

August 11, 2012

This is a greeting card I printed on a letterpress machine. I knew I would have limited printing access, so I tried to make it the most of it while I could.

The resulting card can be used for almost any holiday and given to almost anyone.

The basic idea was to boil down the standard Hallmark-style comedy card to its absolute essentials.

One more close up of the outside before we open it up.

And drum roll…

Hilarious, I know. And since it says “[signature]”, you don’t even have to sign it. This is ready to go.

However, the journey isn’t over yet.

On the back, we have the brand name…

and the rest of that stuff.

I had an idea for a slightly different card along the same theme, but I never formally printed it.
It’s based on the template of those cards that give you a misleading sneak peek of the inside.

Here’s an animated mock-up:

These cards are definitely more fun to give than get. You may be able to find them under the General Misanthropy section of the card aisle.

It’s no fancy letterpress thing, but if you’d like to print your own, I made these downloadable PDFs:
The compliment one.
The cut-out one.

Thanks for reading, and I’ll see you next week.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Edward Bedinghaus permalink
    August 11, 2012 5:40 pm

    This made me smile. I would love it if somebody gave me that greeting card.

  2. August 11, 2012 7:40 pm

    Love it. You have a great imagination

  3. August 11, 2012 9:01 pm

    You could totally market these to snarky Seattleites.

  4. August 12, 2012 12:49 pm

    What a [sentiment] idea!

  5. August 13, 2012 6:45 pm

    [comment]

  6. August 25, 2012 10:58 pm

    We still have the version you made for Sam’s birthday a few years ago 🙂

  7. benrleverichom permalink
    September 19, 2012 12:29 pm

    Reblogged this on Ben Leverich Site.

Leave a Reply

