Skip to content

118: DDR Earrings

June 23, 2012

My good friend Jami has a birthday today, and Megan and I wanted to make her a gift.

Megan suggested something involving the iconic arrows from Dance Dance Revolution (One of Jami’s favorite games), but she wasn’t sure how to implement that idea. I decided that earrings were the way to go, and set out to make them.

On our shelf, we have a box of He-Man themed Shrinky Dinks we got at a thrift store somewhere. That seemed like a pretty good place to start.

If you wanted to do this yourself, it’s very important that you use He-Man Shrinky Dinks, and not just any kind you have on hand. Everyone has some Shrinky Dinks around their house, right?

I found some white space in the margins between He-Man and Skeletor and drew the arrows.

Once they were cut out, we baked them, and they shrank up quite nicely.

Before that arrow, we ran an oven test with Skeletor, but he didn’t make it. Oh well, he was evil anyway.

Here’s a side-by-side size comparison.

Then it’s just a matter of attaching the posts. I put them close to the middle so Jami could point the arrows in her favorite directions on her ears.

And you’re done.

Compliment with a nice jewelry box, and it looks like we spent actual money on this! But we didn’t.

🙂 Happy Birthday, Jami.

——-

UPDATE:

We also made a cake:

Yay, Hamburgers!

See you guys next week!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2012 5:25 pm

    Nice – both the earrings and the cake. Yes, I have some shrink plastic that’s been around for a while. Mine is clear sheets. I didn’t know it came with designs, especially that kind. Oops, perhaps that exposes my age.

  2. June 23, 2012 6:46 pm

    Where’s the step-by-step for the cake!?

    • June 24, 2012 10:48 am

      The cake was mainly Megan’s project. I just iced, so I had to stay out of the kitchen during the first part. I can say this though, yellow cake buns and red velvet meat!

  3. June 24, 2012 1:10 am

    Cool! She’s in for an awesome birthday. 🙂

  4. Jody permalink
    June 25, 2012 11:14 am

    Did you know that you can use plastic from packaging to make shrinky dinks too? I knew someone who used to do that. It’s just a matter of the right grade of plastic, but it’s way cheaper.

    • June 25, 2012 11:41 am

      I had heard about that, but I’m not sure what plastic to use (That’s a terrible excuse for someone as keenly aware of the internet as I am). Also brand names are less expensive when you only buy things at thrift stores 🙂

Leave a Reply

