Skip to content

116: Space Needle Quiz

June 9, 2012

Hey guys, I’m a little busy this week with a side project (there’s still some time to get involved), but I had time to put together this quiz.

Pretty much everyone can pick Seattle out of a line up of famous skylines, but I’m curious to see what happens when we take the Space Needle out of the equation. I was about to Photoshop the Space Needle out of a picture to test this, but then I thought of a more entertaining way to make the quiz.

Below are five city skylines that I put the Space Needle into, and one that already had it. See if you can pick out the real Seattle skyline. And while you’re at it, try to guess what city the fake ones really are.

1

2

3

4

5

6

.
.
.
.
Here are the answers.

Don’t peek until you’re ready.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

  1. That’s Boston. Not even close.
  2. Ding ding ding. We have a winner. #2 is an unaltered image of Seattle.
  3. Dallas, but I had to take out Reunion Tower, because it gave it away.
  4. Vancouver. Close, but no cigar. Maybe the red and white flag tipped you off.
  5. Tricky tricky. It’s another view of Seattle, but this view isn’t supposed to have the Space Needle in it, so it’s not the “real Seattle skyline”. Give yourself partial credit for this one.
  6. New York, selectively cropped.

Good job! Let me know how you did. In the meantime, I’m getting back to work.

See ya next week.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. nathankoob permalink
    June 9, 2012 9:41 pm

    I got #6 correct and get partial credit I guess for #5. I did not do well on the skyline quiz.

  2. June 10, 2012 1:53 pm

    Pretty tricky. I didn’t get any of the other cities, but kept flipping between #2 and #5. #5 was messing me up because I kept thinking, “That must be a really weird angle because I can’t think of a place where you could see the Space Needle and that art deco building (I don’t know its name) together like that.” Sneaky.

  3. June 11, 2012 9:25 am

    It’s weird because #2 looks the most photoshopped.

    • June 11, 2012 12:55 pm

      That’s one of the reasons I picked that picture. In reality the space needle is so far away from the rest of the skyline, that it always looks odd in pictures. The light source, the perspective, and the focus all seem a bit off.

  4. Deborah Hepworth permalink
    June 13, 2012 7:51 am

    I only got one right…Dallas’ skyline! I recognized the Hyatt hotel which would be adjacent to Reunion Tower and that’s the only reason I guessed Dallas. Good quiz.

  5. Meredith Barnes permalink
    June 13, 2012 8:21 pm

    Hiya! I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award 🙂 Love love love your eating adventures!!

  6. June 16, 2012 8:27 pm

    Damn. Next time, I won’t look at the image URLs on every image I load…

  7. September 14, 2015 9:33 pm

    This is really, really easy since I’ve moved.

Leave a Reply

