Skip to content

113: Character studies

May 19, 2012

I’m not feeling so hot today, why don’t we stay in? I’ll give you a tour of my favorite art pieces.

Deal.

First we’ll start in the kitchen, where I display my series of anthropomorphic edibles.

A stand-up tomato. Wakka wakka.

These are drawn with paint markers directly onto small rectangles of Masonite board.

Here’s a fat little eggplant riding a tricycle. It just seemed right to me.

Cowboy toast and a bucking bronco toaster. I liked him so much, I eventually put him on a T-shirt.

A happy trio of peppers. Well, one of them is happy. This one is Megan’s favorite.

And rounding out the edibles collection, we have this little self-loathing garlic vampire.

This next one has been shown in the background of many of the Adventures in eating pages.

A spatula wearing a necktie on canvas in oil and Sharpie. His name is Walter P. Halthrap, and I’ve been drawing the character for a while now. He was loosely based on one of my friends (and now many of you will think, “Is it me?”).

This one is a bit strange, I’ll admit. His name is Ned, and he is the main part of a left foot. Oil on Canvas. Don’t feel sorry for him. He’s comfortable with who he is.

Of the entire collection, I think Ned has always been considered a lesser painting in the eyes of others, but he holds a very special place in my heart.

Louie the Laughing Jellybean. Oil, Sharpie, and paint marker on canvas. Hangs near the front door.

I first drew Louie when I was about 12, during a car trip when my brothers and I were looking at clouds. He’s gone through a lot of changes since then, but the basic concept remains the same–a jellybean that is laughing. Moving along…

I think this was going to be a background for some new character, but I liked it enough to leave it alone when I was done. Tiny canvas covered in paint markers.

Party Plunger! Paint marker on tiny canvas. Continuing my love of inanimate objects wearing clothes or accessories. Some get faces, some don’t, but they’re all named. This is above the door in the entry hallway. I know, he’s probably better suited for the bathroom, but I think that’s a bit expected. Anyway, I already have a painting in the bathroom:

Stapleton Mathers. Distinguished stapler-about-town. Well, hello sir! (Paint marker on tiny canvas)

Oh, and I almost forgot. Frank the Carton of Milk. Oil on canvas. Keeping watch over the living room. I’ve had this painting so long, I don’t even see it anymore.

That’s it for now, but I’m sure there’s more to come. As long as I have paint, there will always be more to come.

See ya next week.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2012 6:28 pm

    I like the Party Plunger the best. What does that say about me?

  2. May 19, 2012 8:42 pm

    These are so cool! I think Stapleton Mathers is my favourite, but they’re all really well done! 😀

  3. May 19, 2012 9:57 pm

    This is such a fun and colorful concept — love the garlic vampire 😉

  4. Fiona.q permalink
    May 22, 2012 7:25 am

    im just wondering what kinda soul inside you which can paint all those lovely pictures,

  5. nathankoob permalink
    May 23, 2012 9:57 pm

    These are all great! I do really love Tiny Canvas Covered in Paint Markers, but have to also give mega-props to Frank the Carton of Milk. I find them both gorgeous, lively and I heavily respect the presence of orange–3 of my favorite things.

  6. May 27, 2012 9:30 pm

    Do you use Threadless.com? Because I feel like they would love a lot of these. With Threadless, people wear your art and you get money, what’s not to love?!

  7. May 31, 2012 9:02 pm

    Awesome, all of them

Leave a Reply

