Skip to content

93: Nesting doll family

December 31, 2011

Happy new year.

I’m in Texas for the holidays.

I’m currently sitting next to my mom on the couch watching Jaws. Neither of us particularly wanted to watch Jaws, but my dad turned it on and fell asleep with the remote. We don’t want to wake him up, because it’s his birthday. So, I figured I could take this time to update the blog. I suppose it’s pretty close to this week’s deadline anyway.

Like I said, it’s my dad’s birthday, and since I didn’t have a lot time for handmade gifts, the guy with 2 gift occasions near Christmas gets the good one. Here’s what he got this year.

That’s a Russian nesting doll with his face on it.  His big, pink face. My dad takes pictures while talking. All his pictures are in mid-word, so this doll is too. Also, he is wearing Zubaz pants, because he once bought 4 pairs and wore only them while he was at home.

Inside the first doll is one that kind of looks like my mom. It’s hard to make flattering portraiture on bowling-pin-shaped pieces. And I made these all from memory, so I accidentally gave her a haircut from about a decade ago.

Now the punchline is coming up, so I must explain. These are arranged in order of age, and I have younger twin brothers. So next is me, then who?

I could easily make the technically younger twin the smaller one, but where’s the fun in that?

Two in one!

I split the smallest piece in half, length-wise and painted each half like a different brother. Problem solved!

And here’s a picture of the whole family.

If your interested in the process, I made these all with Sharpie oil paint markers, They’re pretty decent for this kind of work. I just get red, blue, yellow, white, and black and mix them on the surface as I go.

The bodies are from a set of nesting Santas. I sanded a few down, but then I figured out that I didn’t need to, so I just painted over them.

Goodnight, Happy 2012, and see ya next week!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2011 9:09 pm

    this is weird.

  2. December 31, 2011 11:40 pm

    LoL i Loved your idea ! they do look a bit creepy but still its creative and shows you put in effort ^-^ ..

    Happy Birthday Dad!

    and Happy New Year ;>

  3. January 1, 2012 12:20 am

    Yay Genetics and Art!!! I’m drunk. Happy New Year!!

  4. January 1, 2012 12:38 pm

    cool idea

  5. January 2, 2012 7:43 pm

    Whenever I think of real-life nesting dolls (as in, of actual flesh-and-blood people), I feel creeped out for obvious reasons. Hopefully nobody thought too deeply into these!

  6. mark Hepworth permalink
    January 3, 2012 7:04 am

    Hey I just woke up………… where is everybody

  7. Deborah Hepworth permalink
    January 12, 2012 8:34 am

    I demand a new hairstyle

Leave a Reply

