Skip to content

84: Pringles Costume

October 29, 2011

I was kind of worried that I didn’t have a costume for Halloween, this year. It was quickly approaching the deadline, and I was starting to feel stressed out. So, I calmed myself, as I sometimes do, with a stack of Pringles potato crisps.

As I ate, I caught of glimpse of Mr. Pringle, and I thought to myself, “That’s a nice mustache there, Mr. Pringle.” Then I thought, “I also have a mustache.” And eventually I added it all up into, “I suppose I could dress up as Mr. Pringle,” which is how we got here.

My mustache was, of course, hidden within my beard, so I had to perform the dreaded act of shaving. Ugh. I don’t know if it was worth it to look like Stalin for a week.

Enough chit chat—on with the pictures!

So, I headed to the store and got some vinyl. A whole bunch of it.

My little machine did not enjoy sewing all that vinyl, but it behaved fairly well. I bent a couple needles, but still it plods along. It’s gotten me through a FSM, repairing a collapsible movie screen and a few other much-too-large projects. Good job, little guy.

Now, that’s a good looking seam.

I wanted to do this right, which meant latex foam for support, but latex foam is expensive. As you can tell from the photo above, I used thick polyester batting. So, I did it kind of wrong, but much cheaper.

First test fit: I tried it on to see where to cut the holes.From here out, there was a lot of taking this off and putting it back on.

Now we have a good fit, but no face. I tried it on again to see where the head goes.

Fast forward to the graphics. This was freehand because my printer’s on the mend, so no stencils for me. Also, I discovered that “Pringles” contains the word “ingles” which is Spanish for “English”. How about that?

Then I started sloppily painting the yellow. I just wanted coverage in this step, because I don’t have very good brush control.

I do, however have pretty good pen control. So the precise part was all done with a Sharpie and filled in with a fat marker.

Logo done. Not bad for house paint and office supplies.

I very nearly forgot that magnificent bow tie on the logo. I sewed this up in a jiffy and added an outline.

And that’s it. Some hair gel, some mustache wax, and I’m good to go. Done in 2 days flat. Well, I still have some time…

Oh, I know what I should make!

How could I forget the lid? Once you pop, the fun don’t stop! There’s nothing to pop without a lid.

I went to the store and picked up some packing tape, so I could make my own thick, lightweight plastic. And a couple hours later, I had a reasonably nice looking lid.

It even fits. All done.

Yeah, I took this picture before the lid was done, but you get the idea. I’m heading to a party tonight, and when I get back I’ll post better pictures in better light, if I remember.

I forgot.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2011 8:19 pm

    It looks like you’d easily trip in that 😐

    • October 29, 2011 10:03 pm

      same could be said about high heels. ;/

    • October 30, 2011 12:40 am

      Nope, no tripping. It has a surprising range of motion, too. Just no sitting.

  2. November 18, 2011 4:01 am

    you are a very creative gentleman, i must say.
    liking your posts, moustache man!

  3. November 18, 2011 10:23 am

    I am envious of your sewing abilities, nice costume!

    • November 18, 2011 4:35 pm

      This was easy to sew. One straight line, and the rest was hot glue. I love hot glue.

Leave a Reply

