Skip to content

80: Bus stop art

September 30, 2011

While out walking this week, I noticed this bus stop schedule frame was empty.

And it made me a little sad. For those not from the city, these little frames attached to bus stop posts are usually filled with horribly outdated or just plain wrong bus schedules.

Like this one, from up the street a bit. I know that those times are most likely wrong, but at least it’s something to look at while I wait for my bus. No such luck with an empty one.

So, I took some measurements (because I always have a tape measure on me), and went home to make something. It’s a perfect little frame, so how about a nice little picture?

Click to embiggen. Looks like this is going to be a tall post.

It’s just a quick little drawing of a sunny Seattle day, which we’ll be seeing less of pretty soon. So hopefully it will make people feel a little happier as they wait for their bus in the rain.

Printed, cut and ready for installation. I actually made a few, so I can be prepared if I see another empty frame.

My chosen spot had a sticker on the plexiglass, so I tried to scrape most of it off. It made my installation noticeably less stealthy.

But it worked. I don’t know if anyone saw me, because looking around makes you look more suspicious. I don’t imagine this one will stay up for too long. Metro will change it when they update the schedules. Eventually.

So, for anyone playing along at home, the standard measurements are 2.5 x 21 inches, and the plexiglass just pops right out with a pocketknife or something similar. Have fun!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Fred M permalink
    September 30, 2011 2:18 pm

    Bravo Sir!
    I used to drive (and catch) buses in Brisbane, Australia, and the timetables were rarely replaced (so your art might last a while) 🙂

  2. September 30, 2011 10:28 pm

    Haha, the world needs more people like you. It’d make all the streets a lot more colourful…

  3. mark Hepworth permalink
    October 7, 2011 8:46 am

    My favorite stealth artist

  4. October 11, 2011 1:40 pm

    I just realized that was you and Megan in the art. Stop fooling around and get down from there, young man.

    • October 11, 2011 2:06 pm

      Nice spot. I usually just draw Megan (or someone loosely based on her) when I need a girl, and someone who looks like Me when I draw a guy. It’s easier, and I’m lazy.

      • November 22, 2011 1:21 am

        Haha, I didn’t even notice! But that makes it even more awesome. 😀

  5. November 10, 2011 11:22 pm

    Awesome job, is it still there? if not how long did it last?

  6. November 19, 2011 6:20 am

    Brilliantly inmventive ! Made me smile on a wintry day with a miserable cold . . . Thanks

  7. November 19, 2011 6:24 am

    PS why do you always have a tape measure on you?

Leave a Reply

