Skip to content

79: Crosswalk Comic

September 22, 2011

Everyone likes neurotic crosswalk humor, right? I recommend you click it to make it bigger.

And, that’s why elevator buttons light up.

I would estimate that 70% of my brain is filled with walking strategies and pedestrian etiquette quandaries.

See ya next week.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2011 4:21 am

    I’ll usually resist pushing it if someone is already standing there, out of principle, though it may give me a lot of grief. Or there’s always the somewhat clever pretend-you’re-in-your-own-world-and-don’t-notice-that-someone’s-already-there strategy as you quickly and “absent-mindedly” go for the button. “Oh, whoops, I just belatedly noticed your presence. Ah well.” …Maybe I spend a little too much time thinking about this, too.

    Anyway, nice comic. 🙂

  2. Annie permalink
    September 23, 2011 9:53 am

    My strategy- when I push the button when someone else is standing there, I will often go ahead and push it a second time. This makes them think that I believe the more times I push the button, the faster it will change. It takes away any judgment of them (I think), and instead, they just think I’m nuts. Love the cartoon!

    • September 23, 2011 11:52 am

      So, the “I’d rather them think I’m crazy than inconsiderate” approach. Interesting and effective. I too am an often double-clicker, although that may just be because I’m actually crazy.

  3. September 23, 2011 8:12 pm

    I’m pretty sure everybody thinks of these things, but nobody admits them.

    As for me… well, since I always want to avoid such a scenario, I always walk up to the light from straight ahead (instead of from a corner, where I won’t be able to see the button), and see whether they’ve pushed it or not. Usually though, it doesn’t matter, because the traffic light changes even if you don’t press it…

  4. jkeiser permalink
    September 24, 2011 1:49 pm

    Walking strategies, no kidding! Like the eternal question of the proper strategy for walking from point A to point B downtown. If you have to go 3 streets east and 3 streets south, do you try to go diagonal-ish, or is it better to go all the way east and then all the way south? With traffic lights in the picture it’s no longer a 50/50 proposition because if you make wrong choices, you’ll spend a bunch of time waiting at a traffic light.

  5. October 16, 2011 9:46 pm

    Has anyone else noticed that Seattle’s pedestrians are the WORSE?! Seriously, I’m all about pedestrian priority, and I love jaywalking (because I make my own rules) but NOT when it impedes traffic. Best example? Walking early on a left green arrow. Kills me…
    But, great comic!

  6. November 18, 2011 9:39 am

    Ever notice that all elevators have a CLOSE button but most don’t work…

Leave a Reply

