Skip to content

76: Giraffe bookshelf

September 3, 2011

A friend wanted a bookshelf extension to go atop her built-in cabinet and asked me to build something simple.

I finished the project pretty quickly, so I decided to add a little something. The plans called for a higher side on one end (to be used as a bookend), but I thought I could do something nicer than just a square piece of wood there.

I decided to make a giraffe that would look out over the top of bookshelf.

I slightly carved the end piece before I painted it, to make the drawing stand out more, and give it a realistic effect.

You can see how the carving enhances the shadows. Cut-out paintings are pretty cool. They always look more 3d than they actually are.

Right after I finished painting, I mistakenly picked up my red paint lid, and moved it over the painting to the red paint jar, leaving a long drip trail right across the font of the painting. (Yep, if you’re reading this now, Susanna, the bright red paint stripe was not an intentional design choice.)

I couldn’t get rid of it without redoing a big section of the picture, and after I looked at it for a while, it seemed like not a bad mistake. So, I just drew a shadow in, and now it’s part of the picture. Maybe it’s a red telephone wire, or the top of a fence at the zoo. Who knows?

And here’s a finished picture. It was a total surprise and she loved it.

See ya next week.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Susanna permalink
    September 3, 2011 6:25 pm

    It’s the best! And I like the red line. I’d like to imagine that he is tall enough to go on the rides at the fair.

  2. Annie permalink
    September 3, 2011 6:27 pm

    You have very lucky friends! I love the giraffe. It reminds me of a coat rack I had as a child. The red line really works here… yeah for mistakes!

  3. kirinjirafa permalink
    September 4, 2011 9:50 am

    Beautiful work!

  4. September 5, 2011 10:36 pm

    What inspired the giraffe (vs any other animal)? Something you knew your friend would like or just something random?

    I really like it. If I had one, I think I’d put a Santa hat on it for Christmas….

    • September 6, 2011 10:57 am

      I chose a giraffe just because it was on the top shelf. Seemed like a tall animal was the way to go.

  5. September 9, 2011 5:21 pm

    Wow, the giraffe looks somewhat sad.

    What’s painted on the other side of it? Nothing?

  6. November 22, 2011 1:09 am

    Nice save.

Trackbacks

  1. Industrial Design Postage Stamps « Kirinjirafa's Blog

Leave a Reply

