Skip to content

72: Double Straightsie Birthday Surprise.

August 5, 2011

Before we get started with this post, I’ll need to establish some background.

Most of you don’t know what a “straightsie” is. That’s not surprising, since it’s something my brothers made up. Allow me to explain:

A straightsie (pronounced straight-see) occurs when you are driving, and the road abruptly shifts to the left or right. If you are able to change lanes simply by turning on your blinker and continuing straight, you have encountered a straightsie. They coined this term back when we were young, and it’s been a known concept in my family ever since. Now, we can talk about what I did this week.

This week is my brothers’ birthday, so I made them each a gift, like I do every year.

Two custom board games! They’re the same game, but I couldn’t find two matching board games to re-cover, so I had to slightly change each graphic to fit the different sized boxes and boards. One is Candy Land, and the other is a game purchased at Goodwill called “Magical Mitzvah Park.” Build photos/videos after the jump…

I thought Magical Mitzvah Park would be an interesting/humorous experience when we got it, but it turned out to be an easier/more boring version of Candy Land. The art is the only interesting thing about it:

“Ferris Shpiel” Get it? Seriously, gameplay is as follows: Walk your pawn down the path. Sometimes you can take a shortcut. The end.

Oh well, time to re-cover it.

I had to include this picture. Look at that kid. Also you can see that this game has a hole in the board. It came with a spinner.

My options were to plug the spinner hole, or incorporate a spinner into the redesign on one of the boards. I chose the latter.

This is the gameboard graphic. Straightsies are indicated by the magical-colored passthroughs. The bottom one is a “questionably legal straightsie”, because it requires you to drive into oncoming traffic.

When it came time to design the box art, I took inspiration from the board games I loved as a child. There is apparently only one rule of boardgame box art: Make it much more exciting than the actual game. I was greatly inspired by memories of Domino Rally.

Here’s the video of me drawing it:

And here’s the actual image, so you can see details:

I have definitely succeeded in creating an image based on the game that oversells it in every way.

So, now you may be wondering, “Why is there a baseball player with a guitar atop that vehicle?” Well, that’s not just any baseball player. That’s Yankee great Derek Jeter, and he is shredding a sweet metal solo on your car (as you fly through 2 straightsies in a row) because it’s the most badass thing that could ever happen. (Suffice it to say this is also somewhat of an inside reference.)

Because no Double Straightsie game would be complete without Derek’s insane solo, I need to make a Derek-Jeter-with-guitar game piece.

After I created the above image, I just printed it out, folded it over some thick cardstock, and set it in a glob of epoxy on some parchment paper.

When it dries, the parchment paper peels right off, and I have a nice translucent base.

I have these extra pieces from the board games I destroyed, so I threw them in the new games. (At this point, I have yet to develop rules for this game I’m designing.)

This was the part I didn’t think through. I had been creating these things, thinking “This will be a fun, cheap way to make a gift,” but I forgot about printing costs. It can be pretty expensive to print 4 large poster-size images, but I was so far into the process, I didn’t really have a choice. Anyway, I went ahead with the printing, and they turned out fine, even if they were a little over budget.

Check out that Matchbox car. Do you know how hard it is to find boring Matchbox cars? Pretty hard. I just wanted a Nissan or something, but they only had cool cars.

I re-skinned the boards, and we even played a round. It is technically playable. I’m not going to say it’s fun, but it’s something to do.

Oh right, the rules. Well, here’s a PDF if you’re interested in hastily written, poorly thought out gameplay. I know I am!

Here, I’m about to attach the new graphics.

It went on smoothly and without any problems. However I’m sure the games still smell like spray-glue. Sorry guys.

Well I thought I was done, but then I had to make my own shipping boxes, too.

USPS says they’ll arrive by the end of Friday. I sure hope they do, so I can post this without ruining the surprise. (…aaaaand, they just arrived)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 8:50 pm

    Fine, you made me lol at those instructions.

    I’m assuming in a two-player game, there’ll be two Derek Jeters shredding insane metal ‘solo’s?

    • August 6, 2011 10:43 am

      I haven’t really thought it through, but probably only one Derek Jeter. He is awarded to the winner.

  2. Susanna permalink
    August 6, 2011 3:25 pm

    Kryle Krep, this is KRAZY. When I saw that first picture of the boxes I thought there was no way that this could possibly be happening. You totally fucking nailed it.

    • August 6, 2011 6:14 pm

      The thought occurred to me that you might be interested in this. I guess you are. Too bad the games now reside far, far away and will never be played by the likes of you.

  3. August 8, 2011 11:11 am

    Have you heard of Sprout? It’s a local art/community project/competition. I don’t know if you would have any interest in it, but, you would probably do well given your creativity. Sprout Seattle has a facebook page, not sure if they have a website. Check it out – they host one every few months.

    • August 13, 2011 3:19 pm

      I just checked that out. Thanks for the info. It looks… complicated, and intimidating, but I might give it a try.

  4. August 17, 2011 2:15 am

    Find me another copy of Magical Mitzvah Park. NOW.

  5. Andrew permalink
    August 17, 2011 6:19 am

    The game is ridiculous (in a good way). Unfortunately, the pictures can’t quite illustrate the talent and professionalism that went into its creation. Thanks so much for the gift! Melinda thought that it was made by some board game company until I explained the inside joke.

    • August 17, 2011 11:42 am

      Thanks for the comment, new favorite brother. And you’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

