Skip to content

63: Twister Bag

June 3, 2011

I’m on the road this week, posting from Baltimore. Not that it has anything to do with the content of this entry, but it’s interesting to note.

Today, I submit a hand bag from an old Twister game mat:

I must confess. This is not an entirely original pattern. I don’t really know how to sew a handbag, so I figured the best way to learn was to rip up one and try to re-make it.

I bought this bag a long time ago at a thrift shop because it was cheap, and I liked the magnetic closure. It’s made of something reasonably approximating leather, and it looks like there aren’t too many pieces total.

Never heard of it. I told the recipient of the bag that the M was for “Mom”. It’s kind of a late Mother’s Day gift, because I’m a terrible son, but also a great one.

Then I ripped it apart! I used the old pieces of bag as a pattern for cutting out the new pieces. It worked pretty well.

I folded the Twister mat over itself a couple times (until it was 4 layers thick), and ironed the layers together under some parchment paper. It doesn’t fuse as easily or completely as plastic shopping bags do, but the end result is pretty good. I also stitched around all the edges to make sure it wouldn’t fray later.

When I was done, I had a thin leather-like material, with Twister graphics on both sides.

Because I was doubling it over so many times, I almost used up the whole sheet. But it was still a good deal. Just a couple bucks at the local Value Village.

Here are all of the parts for the bag, including the strap. It was a pretty easy project. (O.K. Not all of the parts. I noticed I left out a small piece immediately after I took this photo. 10 internet points to anyone who spots the piece missing from this picture.)

Maybe the hardest part of the project was attaching this little clasp.

I had to de- then re-rivet the metal bits. It worked out well, because my material was thinner than the original, so I had left-over rivet stalks to try again.

I did what I could on the sewing machine, but I knew there would be a few seams I would have to hand-sew.

As it turns out, you can bring sewing supplies and materials on a plane, even small scissors. That’s good, because I had a long flight to work on this. Above is a picture of me, sewing in the airport.

Here’s a close-up of my barely competent handiwork.

…and the back

…and the bottom. Through some creative planning and cutting, I was able to get most of the interesting bits from the game mat to show up.

One more image of the front — this time, without padding inside. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable project.

I hope this posts. I have a pretty unreliable internet connection right now.

UPDATE: Yay!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 9:48 pm

    Oh, I thought it was like a fold-out twister mat.

    Cool anyways!

  2. June 4, 2011 1:21 am

    Nice bag! And great way to learn. I’m thinking about doing the same with some clothes.

    (Your crafting at the airport makes me feel embarrassed that I haven’t had time to work on my own stuff.)

    • June 4, 2011 7:17 am

      Good. You should feel embarrassed 🙂
      Get to work! Kraa-kow!

  3. June 4, 2011 6:14 pm

    One – love the bag.
    Two – you’ve embarrassed me with your engenuity, using a twister mat! Too cool!
    Three – now I need one; look, you’ve started a trend.
    Four – I love seeing a guy sew!!

    (btw – all four of my son’s know how to sew and somewhat know how to knit. I need to start showing them this blog more often.)

  4. Rusty Swingle permalink
    June 5, 2011 1:25 pm

    Love it, Kyle, and I presume you are at the wedding now or soon to be on your way home. Keep upthe great work.

  5. Deborah Hepworth permalink
    October 8, 2011 7:40 am

    As the proud recipient of this timeless bag, I enjoy all the unique comments I get while out and about. Fun game to play, “funner” purse to carry! Makes me smile.

  6. November 22, 2011 12:29 am

    Soooo awesome! I would totally like to receive that as a Mother’s Day gift! You know, if I was a mother. Which I ain’t, but I digress…

Leave a Reply

