Skip to content

62: Coin Wobblers

May 28, 2011

This is a wobbler:

They’re pretty easy to make.

You take a couple coins…

…and you jam them together like so. Easy.

Alright, so there’s some math and cutting involved. To get it balanced just right, you have to measure the notch.

Make: magazine says the magic number for the notch depth is 29% of the radius, and that’s good enough for me.

We have a few interesting coins from a while ago, when Megan traveled around the world.

I don’t have any other plans for them. So, let’s cut ’em up!

For tiny, precise measurements, I use my trusty points and picas ruler. (Shout out to my peeps from the Publishing Arts program! Woo!!)

I marked the cutting depth with a tiny dot in the above picture. See if you can spot them.

For these two-tone coins, I had to cut all the way through the silver part, and the middle fell out of one. Luckily, I had an extra.

Then I notched everything with a Dremel, forgot to take any pictures of that process, and squished them all together.

If cut just right, they shouldn’t need any glue. But a dab of super glue does take care of any wiggling, if you have a less than steady hand.

And they work:

See ya next week!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 28, 2011 11:50 am

    This seems like it could be made into some flash game…

Leave a Reply

