Skip to content

49: Missile Toe

February 24, 2011

I was cleaning up today and noticed this hanging around. Then I remembered I never did post about making my favorite winter decoration.

It’s a missile toe.

I made it using this stuff:

…which is great, by the way. It’s a bucket of  plastic pellets that melt and become malleable in hot water. Then it air-cools to a hard white plastic. Some more shots, and some mildly NSFW plastic figurines I made, after the jump.

[Jump!] I noticed that I was leaving fingerprints on the surface as I formed it, but then I realized that was a good thing on a toe. So, I tried to emphasize it. It’s painted with some surplus model paints I picked up for cheap.

I included pictures of Larry and Denise to show the texture of the plastic. They aren’t painted yet, because I’m kind of afraid to see what they’ll look like.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 10:32 pm

    Friendly hint: DON’T PAINT THEM.

  2. Andrew permalink
    May 11, 2011 11:38 am

    Ahhh! Disgusting. Why is it orange?

    • May 11, 2011 11:55 am

      Fake tanning? Nah. Color correction issues. It’s more skin-toned, actually.

Leave a Reply

