Skip to content

44: Around the Corner

January 20, 2011

This one was inspired both by my own infantile comedic obsessions and a couple of storefronts here in the Seattle area.

Each time I design something new, I try to put more into it than the one before. I learned a lot from this project, and it took me a good chunk of time to complete.  The perspective was a fun challenge, and I’m sure I did it the hard way. I want the final product to be very printable, so I kept a limited color palette. It’s down to 9 colors (including tints), and I’m trying to decide how to lose one more, because 8 is a good print number.

Click for bigger.

The most fun I had during this project was actually designing the tiny font for the right side. I wanted something that looked like words, but was not entirely legible, imitating how letters appear from a distance.

You can see the font on the “Open” sign, street signs, and the sign for the “Fudge Shop.” Here’s a super-close-up:

Yeah, that doesn’t say anything at all from here.

As per usual, for the next week or so, you may vote at Threadless for my design to be featured on a T-shirt. (Also, thank you to everyone who voted for me last time, too.) Please do vote. It would mean a lot to me. Just click this link:

Voting’s over. They pulled it early because so many people gave it a bad score. That’s quite a kick to the crotch.

Around the Corner - Threadless T-shirts, Nude No More

9 Comments leave one →
  1. sully permalink
    January 20, 2011 10:19 am

    i’m sorry, i don’t really get it :/ explain?

    • January 20, 2011 10:52 am

      It’s a popular schoolyard rhyme that references bodily excretions: “Milk, Milk, Lemonade. Around the corner, fudge is made.” I drew it as a neighborhood, as if the rhyme was actually directions to get to a fudge shop.

      • sully permalink
        January 20, 2011 10:55 am

        well that makes perfect sense 🙂 but i’ve never heard that rhyme before, wow. maybe it’s a northwest thing…

  2. Deborah Hepworth permalink
    January 20, 2011 7:14 pm

    Your dad got quite the chuckle out of this and I was smiling ear to ear until I realized I really wanted to say…”Go to your room!” for the bathroom humor.

  3. Becky permalink
    January 20, 2011 11:19 pm

    there’s the other verse that involves a tootsie roll…any possibility of a follow-up tee? How would you envision that? Or does that just go too far? Any further plans to depict other childhood rhymes using awesome graphic design and witty irony? (sorry Mama Hepworth, I have a filthy mouth that should be washed with bar soap)

    • January 20, 2011 11:59 pm

      I am vaguely familiar with the second verse. I have no plans for incorporating it 🙂

  4. Mark Hepworth permalink
    January 21, 2011 7:53 am

    Ha ha. I can’t help it. I love it.

  5. Phoenix permalink
    January 30, 2011 7:37 pm

    That’s crap — It’s hilarious. They pulled it because they didn’t get it.

    • January 30, 2011 7:49 pm

      For the sake of infantile humorists everywhere, I hope you’re right.

Leave a Reply

