Skip to content

36: Tetris Stamps

November 27, 2010

UPDATE: Now available for purchase, here.

Not enough things are Tetrisy. Below is my plan to fix that.

Soon, everything will be comprised of interlocking pieces!

To make your own Tetris Stamps, Just follow these 4 easy steps:

Step 1: Design them (or just take this image).

The idea was to base the design on the Gameboy version, giving each piece it’s own texture, so they can be used in just one color. But Gameboy supports gray and stamps don’t, so I changed it a bit. Of course, you don’t have to only use one color.

When I was done with the designs, I tried to organize them efficiently for production. That’s hard.  (Seriously, 100 points to anyone who can arrange the 7 standard Tetris pieces in a rectangle.) I gave up and went with this QR-code-looking thing:

Step 2: Iron

The stamp medium I was using advertised that you could iron printed images onto the surface. It was a bit of an exaggeration.

I boosted the clarity so you could actually see it.

Step 3: Hack away, pretty much freehand. (Or, you know, do it right if you’re patient.)

I didn’t have a lot of outline to go on, and I didn’t feel like devising another way to transfer the image, so I ended up just winging most of it. Also, I kind of zoned out with my X-acto and forgot to take any pictures of the process.

At this point, the pieces reminded me a bit of this old school classic:

Step 4: Ink ’em up, and go to town!

It worked out alright. I got the hang of carving about the time I finished the last piece, so one of those squares is perfect. I think I may try it again and do it better. Or, I could just call it “whimsical” and go with it.

Now go forth, and stamp everything with Tetris! Make everything Tetrisy! Do it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

