Skip to content

28: Jumbo Lucky Charms

September 30, 2010

“Jumbo Lucky Charms Cereal is part of this enormous breakfast.”

It all started when I saw these big Starshmallows on sale. I realize they’re labeled “StarMallows” but that’s a terrible name. It takes out the most fun sound (“rsh”), so I will call them Starshmallows.

I instantly thought of my favorite shaped-marshmallow cereal, and the idea was born. Of course, I suppose I’m creating more of an off-brand Jumbo Lucky Charms here, since I was unable to obtain any gargantuan purple horseshoe pieces and so forth.

The next question was how do I scale up the no-fun part of the cereal? I needed something sweet, but borderline bland, generic tasting, and about the same size as the Starshmallows. Multi-shaped would be a plus.

Ta-dah! Animal crackers. (What is that thing? I think it’s the fabled sheepcowdog.)

I just mixed them together in the biggest bowl I could find, with my comically oversize spoon.

This is my own personal mix, so I figured I would double the standard marshmallows per cereal ratio, thus fulfilling one of  my biggest childhood wishes.

Then comes the best part.

Milk!

If you’re following along at home (and why wouldn’t you be), at this point you’ll want to dig in immediately, because the animal crackers aren’t quite structurally sound for very long after this step.

It tastes pretty much like Lucky Charms. Only bigger. “They’re gigantically delicious.”  And that spoon is hard to eat with.

So… does anybody want to try out some Giant Cookie Crisp?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Shellie permalink
    September 30, 2010 1:58 pm

    Kyle – Lucky Charms are my all time favorite cereal! What could be better than giant Lucky Charms, and with extra Starshmallows too! Awesome.

  2. Chris permalink
    September 30, 2010 2:19 pm

    This made me laugh and puke.

  3. September 30, 2010 5:37 pm

    Hurr, are you going to eat that loaf of bread too? 😛

    • September 30, 2010 7:06 pm

      It’s part of a balanced breakfast.

      • October 2, 2010 9:56 am

        OK, that was stupid; I just had a dream where you (or someone else :V) threw giant marshmallows at a crowd of people. Like, really giant ones the size of your head.

        I tried eating one but my teeth fell out and then I woke up :/

  4. Deborah Hepworth permalink
    October 1, 2010 6:05 am

    You did it! I liked the idea when you mentioned it, but the pictures really say it all! Congrats on spinning a whole new meaning for “balanced breakfast”.

  5. kitri permalink
    October 2, 2010 8:57 pm

    after giant co-ooooookie crisp comes giant cinnamon toast crunch.

  6. Deborah Hepworth permalink
    November 13, 2010 3:51 am

    I’ll take a case of that Giant Cookie Crisp.

  7. Name * permalink
    June 23, 2011 4:15 am

    This post is ridiculous.

  8. July 2, 2011 1:18 am

    That is awesome, can you imagine it with teddy grahams?

  9. November 18, 2011 12:49 am

    …Walter has me intrigued.

Leave a Reply

