Skip to content

177: Birthday Cards

August 31, 2013

Nothing huge or clever to show this week. Just a little something I’m kind of proud of.

Megan’s out of town this weekend visiting family, but before she left, she needed to get a couple birthday cards. So, I grabbed an old marker set and some card stock and made these for her mom and grandma.

(As a side note, good job Pentel markers! There is no way an at least 12-year old set of markers at the bottom of an art supply box should still be usable, but yours was just fine.)

birthday cards-4

Her mom’s card is pictured above. 61 birthday candles crammed onto the cover. That was fun to draw, but not very fun to count. I’m relatively certain I counted right, but I’m also pretty sure you won’t be able to on your first try.

birthday cards-5

And the inside is pretty simple, but left us room for personal messages.

Next was her grandma’s card, which took an interesting turn. A little backstory here–her grandma is turning 80 and is a champion bowler.

birthday cards-1

So, the imagery worked out beautifully.

birthday cards-2

I always get to sign cards on behalf of both of us because Megan’s handwriting is charmingly awful.

And finally, I always put a fake brand on the back of all my homemade cards. It’s something I’ve done since I was a kid and saw a Hallmark commercial where someone flipped over the card to read the brand. Good job commerial. You made a lasting impression. My “brand” changes pretty much every time I make a card, though. This time I went with “bestcard.” I like it.

birthday cards-3

Happy birthday everyone, and see you next week.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2013 8:24 pm

    very neat. i like the little tongue one

  2. September 1, 2013 9:15 am

    Nice cards, Every card needs a brand on the back. A note to your “side note” – I’ve got you beat – some Pentel extra wide markers over 25 years old still work.

  3. icearrow88 permalink
    September 1, 2013 1:41 pm

    I never should have left my Pentel markers in Ohio. :P

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 564 other followers

