Skip to content

176: Ladybug and Turtle

August 24, 2013

Megan and I were invited to a housewarming/birthday party. About 20 hours before, I still didn’t have a gift, so I went into panic mode and started running around the house looking for the basic elements of creation. In a closet, I found a square of wood that I had already cut and primed to use as a canvas (thanks, past me!).

I know everybody needs art when they move into a new place, so a painting was a perfect idea.

But there was a problem with this plan. I’ve had some moderate creative block, recently. I sat down to paint but couldn’t think of anything to make. So, I asked Megan for a noun, and she said, “Ladybug.” Great! I sketched up something on the computer real quick:

ladyturt

A bit creepy on the bug side in this draft, but I’ll fix that later. The basic idea is there. After that step, the rest of the work went so quickly that I neglected to get any in-process pictures. But I got the finished piece:

Ladybug Turtle-2

Aww. They like each other.

Enlarged to show texture:

Ladybug Turtle-3

Bonus Material: I made a little drawing on the giftwrap.

Ladybug Turtle-4

The wood I used is inch-thick MDF, so I was able to simply drill a hole in the back for easy hanging on a nail, a feature which the happy couple used immediately.

hanging

Lookin’ good, you two.

See you next week.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2013 4:08 pm

    I spent a great deal of time trying to determine if the ladybug was enormous or the turtle was microscopic. In the end, I decided it didn’t really matter. If they can look past it, I should be able to as well, no? It’s lovely.

    • August 25, 2013 5:08 pm

      I, too, wondered as I drew it. Ultimately, I landed on “both.”

  2. icearrow88 permalink
    August 26, 2013 11:30 am

    Adorables. :)

    What kind of paint markers did you use?

    • August 26, 2013 11:40 am

      Sharpie brand. I just buy red, yellow, blue, white and black, and mix on-canvas, but I wouldn’t necessarily recommend them. They’re sometimes a pain to work with. The flow is unreliable to say the least, and they often drip or dump a lot of paint in one spot without warning.

      • icearrow88 permalink
        August 26, 2013 11:46 am

        Good to know. I have a painting project I’d like to complete in the next week, and I’ve been toying with the idea of trying something a little different.

  3. Felipe permalink
    November 13, 2013 6:33 am

    What happened to you? why no more posts? :(

    • November 13, 2013 9:47 am

      Thanks for the concern. I’m OK, just taking a little break. I’ll be back soon.

      • Felipe permalink
        November 18, 2013 8:00 pm

        OH! Great! I was worried that something have happened to you. I hope you get back soon.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

