Skip to content

174: 2-for-1 Birthday Card

August 10, 2013

This last week, my brothers had a birthday.

It may be a bit puzzling, but that last sentence is actually grammatically correct if my brothers are twins, and they are. Because I’m a bad brother, I didn’t have a lot planned, so I went into last minute panic mode. This is what I came up with:

First, I did the bare minimum. I printed a card.

birthdaycard-1

The card makes no sense, but that’s kind of the point. Because, before I printed the card, I did inventory on supplies. As it turns out, I only had one sheet of white cardstock left in the entire house, so my card-printing choices were limited. I could either (1) print a couple very small cards, (2) get creative, or (3) leave the house and buy more paper, and you can be sure I wasn’t going to do #3.

So I got creative. One card per unique DNA seems like a fine rule.

birthdaycard-2

Sliced in two, and each brother is mailed half of a card.

Now the last word on the card, explained: I thought the rest of the card could be easily figured out given just half of each word. “Hap.. Birth… Brot..” OK I get it. So, I threw in a nonsense word at the end to confuse them and ensure they would have to collaborate to figure out the entire message (and then be disappointed that it means nothing. My family is big on giving out disappointment as gifts).

The inside has a nice little message, too.

birthdaycard-3

And yes, that is the second phase of the plan. I also made a video.

After they finally figured out the link, they were rewarded with this tremendously special video:

 

You’re welcome!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2013 2:42 am

    It’s so beautiful… :’)

  2. August 11, 2013 4:28 am

    Oh my god, I’ve finally figured it out.

    I was watching “Mr Selfridge” the other night, and I was staring at Jeremy Piven, the main actor. He was driving me mad; I was sure I’d seen him somewhere before, in some other film or show, but when I looked him up, I couldn’t pin-point it.

    But now I can see… I was totally thinking of you!

    There’s a similarity there, right? I’m not insane, right? o__O

    • August 11, 2013 1:27 pm

      I can see it, yes. And I like Jeremy Piven. …I’ve certainly been compared to worse.

  3. Deborah Hepworth permalink
    August 12, 2013 7:03 am

    Oh, now I get to see the whole card…Clever boy! Video very entertaining, but I KNOW you can sing/play better than that!?

  4. August 12, 2013 10:23 am

    cute. sweet. fun. lool

  5. October 17, 2013 8:47 pm

    How cute!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 568 other followers

